Treasury announces central bank board appointments

Carol Schwartz
The Reserve Bank of Australia - Board Member
Date: 22 November 2021
Position: Board Member
By Elizabeth Fry

The Morrison Government has reappointed Carol Schwartz to the Reserve Bank of Australia board for a further five years.

Schwartz who has been a member of the RBA board since 2017, has had extensive experience in business, property, the arts, and community organisations and has been a director on several public companies and government boards.

"The reappointment of Ms. Schwartz maintains the high calibre of experience and expertise on the RBA board as our economy recovers from the COVID-19 pandemic," Treasurer Josh Frydenberg said in a release.

The Federal Treasurer has also reappointed Deborah Ralston as a part-time member of the Payments System Board for five years.

Ralston, a professorial fellow in banking and finance at Monash University has been a member of the central bank's payments system board since 2016.

She is once again a member of the SMSF Association board after earlier stepping down as chair to serve on the panel of Canberra's Retirement Income Review.

The long-awaited independent review of Australia's retirement income system examined the retirement income system's three pillars - the age pension, superannuation, and voluntary savings, including homeownership.

In September, Ralston joined the Future Fund's board of guardians,

"The reappointment of Professor Ralston maintains the high level of skills and experience on the PSB Board," said Frydenberg, adding that the payments board was responsible for determining the RBA's Australia's payments system policy.